Get your free copy of Art of the Living Dead

and 3 other reasons not to join my mailing list…

Adrian Hanft
2 min readFeb 16, 2020

I’ve started a new writing project Letter Zero. I want to send my twisted blend of technology critique, storytelling, and ideas for creative energy management right to your inbox. But before I ask for your email address, I should warn you…

Letter Zero isn’t a normal mailing list. In fact, it is my goal to be nothing like the other stuff gunking up your inbox. So just so we are clear, you should know 3 things about Letter Zero.

1. It won’t be pretty
2. It won’t be short
3. It will be uncomfortable

Have I lost you yet? Perhaps I should explain…

Why won’t it be pretty? The best design lesson ever taught came from Bob Gill. He explains that only boring words need interesting graphics. Conversely, interesting words don’t need graphics at all. My goal is to deliver interesting words that stand on their own. I can’t promise that I wont ever include an image in Letter Zero, all I can say is no, it probably won’t be pretty.

Why won’t it be short? I’ve been told that people prefer bullet points, headlines, and clear calls to action. Do they? My theory is that if you speak in a human voice and have something interesting to say, people will read. That’s my goal with every email I send. I want it to feel as if you are hearing the voice of a friend. Letter Zero is not a marketing email, so…

--

--

Adrian Hanft

Author of User Zero: Inside the Tool that is Reshaping Dystopia